Mar 302012

With more Antarctic Territory coins scheduled for release in the near future, blogger Silver Spirit Coins has just published a great reminder of this popular series to date.

“The Australian Antarctic series is one of my favourites and has been ever since I started to collect coins 5 years ago. It is a beautifully designed and well thought out series with great presentation.

What is happening to the price?

I have noticed over the last few months supply to the market of this coin has become very tight with sales exploding especially in the US and Europe.

If you want this series or are missing a coin from the series now is the time to make the purchase as prices do not look like they will settle down or even pause.  The series is following the same pattern as other series that have done very well. High demand and an escalation in prices when the coins are released followed by a settling down period and now tight supply and steadily increasing prices. Now is the time to purchase these before they become too expensive.

The 2004 Mawson Station is the key to the series.  I used to be able to find this at auctions all the time for around the $100 mark but now it is very hard to find for double that. I cannot get 2006 Edgeworth David and the 2008 Humpback Whale is becoming difficult to find. Future prices are impossible to predict but with the increasing sales internationally and a very tight supply the series just could go the way of the Deadly & Dangerous or Treasures of Australia series. The prices could really appreciate very quickly from here, especially for the earlier issues.

Each coin in the series features a different design of places and events occurring in the Antarctic Territory.

These silver proof coins were first issued in 2004 and the series continued till 2011.

They are struck from 1oz of pure silver featuring coloured designs.

The mintage of each coin is limited to 7,500.

I do try and keep a full range on my web site Silver Spirit Coins

2004 Mawson Station Silver Proof Coin

Appearing as the first release of the Perth Mint’s Australian Antarctic Territory series was the Mawson Station Silver Proof Coin. The coin features Mawson Station which is one of three permanent Australian bases in the Antarctic.

2005 Leopard Seal Silver Proof Coin

The Leopard Seal Silver Proof Coin was the second release of the series and appeared from the Perth Mint in 2005. On the reverse of the coin, a colorized image of leopard seals is shown.

2006 Edgeworth David Base Silver Proof Coin

In its third year with the release of the Edgeworth David Base Silver Proof Coin which was named after Australian geologist and explorer Sir William Edgeworth David.

2007 Davis Station Silver Proof Coin

The fourth release of the program is a design of Davis Station, located on Cooperation Sea on the Antarctic Continent.

2008 Humpback Whale Silver Proof Coin

The reverse of the Humpback Whale Silver Proof Coin contains a design showcasing the large creature. This strike was released as the fifth of the series.

2009 South Magnetic Pole Silver Proof Coin

Marking 100 years since the first recorded explorers reached the South Magnetic Pole .

2010 Husky Silver Proof Coin

The 2010 release of the series was the 2010 Husky Silver Proof Coin. It was created to acknowledge the important contributions that dogs made to the exploration of Antarctica.

2011 Killer Whale Silver Proof Coin

Appearing in 2011 as the eighth strike of the series was the Killer Whale Silver Proof Coin. This strike, like the others before it, featured a reverse complete with an outline of Antarctica and a colorized scene inside that outline.”


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.